Season Songs

  • This material is held at
  • Reference
      GB 58 Add MS 88918/1/55
  • Alternative Id.
      (ark) ark:/81055/vdc_100000000177.0x000174
  • Dates of Creation
      18 Aug 1974-1979
  • Language of Material
  • Physical Description
      1 folder

Scope and Content

Partly typewritten and partly autograph. Contains exercise books of poetry drafts, notes and diary entries. The exercise book that previously belonged to ‘M.I. Cunningham’ contains drafts of a speech that Hughes gave on farming and the environment. Further notes about the poetry, unpublished poetry and diary entries written on loose papers are also included. Some of the poetry drafts were not included in Season Songs but were published later as uncollected in Ted Hughes Collected Poems as follows, 'He Gets Up in Dark Dawn' ('Uncollected (1977-1978)'), 'Pets' ('Uncollected (1976-77)'), 'A Lamb in the Storm' (‘Uncollected (1979)’) and ‘Barley’ (‘Uncollected (1979)’). There is some overlap between this material and that relating to Moortown Diary (Add MS 88918/1/45), including drafts of an unpublished, untitled poem that begins 'The heifer was too young.'

This folder contains some undated material.


Original order of papers has been retained.

Access Information


Not Public Record(s)


Collection of poetry published in 1974. Prior to the publication of the collection the Autumn poems were published in a separate volume in 1968. Further poems were added to later editions of the collection.