Parish records of Heslington

Scope and Content

Includes register of christenings, 1653-1714, 1716-1968 (note this register uses the Dade registration scheme for the years 1786-1812); register of marriages, 1654-1655, 1665-1702, 1717-1753, 1759-1812, 1838-1994; register of burials, 1653-1904 (note this register uses the Dade registration scheme for the years 1783-1812, ages only from 1805); register of banns, 1824-1904, 1915-1953, 1972-1994; register of services, 1880-1888, 1895-1985; register of confirmations, 1966-1972; grave plan, c.1860-1950; records concerning benefice income, including tables of fees, 1871, 1921-1922; charity correspondence and papers, 1923-1939; churchwardens’ records, including accounts, 1712-1810, 1821-1980, briefs, 1704-1705, fabric papers, 1818, 1858, 1879-1953, 1969-1982, 1986-1991, and churchyard papers, 1935, 1938, 1944, 1969; constables’ accounts, 1754-1823; records of incumbents, including appointments correspondence, 1969, 1975, team ministry papers, 1971-1972, joint worship working party papers, 1970-1977, church sharing agreement, 1971, minutes of meetings, correspondence and papers of Worship, Training and Evangelism committee of Heslington church joint council, 1974-1981, brochure, correspondence and accounts of Heslington churches project, 1972-1981, dilapidations papers, 1955, 1958, 1971-1972, and parsonage house papers, 1964-1966, 1971-1976; records concerning parish rooms and societies, including papers for celebrations of silver jubilee of George V and coronation of George VI, c.1935, c.1936, Mothers’ Union papers, 1970-2008, and a letter regarding parish rooms, 1975; school correspondence and papers, 1901-1920, 1938; surveyors’ records, including bylawmen and surveyors' accounts, 1748-1817; Vestry/Parochial Church Council records, including minutes of meetings, 1894-1922, 1936-1982, 1985-2010, accounts and financial papers, 1928-1953, 1964-1998, electoral rolls, 1921-1924, 1931-1948, papers relating to parish boundaries, 1929, 1931, 1954, 1970-1971, enclosure award and map, 1857, correspondence and papers, 1947, 1949-1954, 1956-1962, 1967-1975, Joint Church Council (Anglican/Methodist), minutes of meetings, papers and accounts, 1966-1990, and a list of parishioners serving in Second World War, n.d; architectural drawings, plans, photographs, faculty papers and notes relating to the re-opening of the old South Porch, 2015-2016.

Administrative / Biographical History

The parish of Heslington was subject to the peculiar jurisdiction of the Prebend of Ampleforth from an early date until 1842 when the advowson passed to the Archbishop of York. Though technically a chapel, the church of St Paul was described as fully parochial in the medieval period and was mentioned as early as 1299, together with its burial ground.

The living was augmented through Queen Anne’s Bounty in 1740, 1772, 1787 and 1795. In 1857-1858 a new church was built on the site of the original medieval structure, designed by J. B. and W. Atkinson of York, although the new church retained its two fourteenth century bells. The church was renovated and enlarged in 1973 by architect Ronald Sims. The churchyard was also enlarged in 1862 and 1921.

Historically, part of Heslington belonged to the parish of York, St Lawrence. In 1869 this portion was transferred to Heslington parish, which was henceforward described as a vicarage. The Yarburgh family of Heslington Hall provided a parsonage house in the village in 1871 and this was replaced by a new house in 1965. In 1971 the township of Langwith was transferred from Wheldrake parish to Heslington.

In 1971 a local ecumenical partnership was formed between St Paul’s Church and Heslington Methodist Chapel to combine their place and form of worship. St Paul’s Church was renamed ‘Heslington Church’ and is now one of only a few joint Anglican/Methodist churches. The partnership also includes the Roman Catholic Chaplaincy at the University of York.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute in 1967 by the incumbent. Further additions were made to the archive in 1971, 1974, 1976, 1980, 1983, 1984, 1986, 1987, 1992, 1993, 1997, 1999, 2001, 2011 and 2016.

Note

The parish of Heslington was subject to the peculiar jurisdiction of the Prebend of Ampleforth from an early date until 1842 when the advowson passed to the Archbishop of York. Though technically a chapel, the church of St Paul was described as fully parochial in the medieval period and was mentioned as early as 1299, together with its burial ground.

The living was augmented through Queen Anne’s Bounty in 1740, 1772, 1787 and 1795. In 1857-1858 a new church was built on the site of the original medieval structure, designed by J. B. and W. Atkinson of York, although the new church retained its two fourteenth century bells. The church was renovated and enlarged in 1973 by architect Ronald Sims. The churchyard was also enlarged in 1862 and 1921.

Historically, part of Heslington belonged to the parish of York, St Lawrence. In 1869 this portion was transferred to Heslington parish, which was henceforward described as a vicarage. The Yarburgh family of Heslington Hall provided a parsonage house in the village in 1871 and this was replaced by a new house in 1965. In 1971 the township of Langwith was transferred from Wheldrake parish to Heslington.

In 1971 a local ecumenical partnership was formed between St Paul’s Church and Heslington Methodist Chapel to combine their place and form of worship. St Paul’s Church was renamed ‘Heslington Church’ and is now one of only a few joint Anglican/Methodist churches. The partnership also includes the Roman Catholic Chaplaincy at the University of York.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute. This includes all material received up to and including 2011. Later material has not yet been listed, please contact the Borthwick Institute for further information.

Alternative Form Available

Registers of christenings, 1653-1885, marriages, 1654-1885, burials, 1653-1900, and banns, 1824-1900, are also available on microfilm at the Borthwick Institute (References: MF 704, 1756, 1762).

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 23.02.16.

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are expected.

Bibliography

Yorkshire Archaeological Society, 'The parish register of Heslington. 1639-1837.' Transcribed and edited by Margaret E. Smith (Leeds, 1982).

Additional Information

Published