Records: Llangwyllog Railway Station

Scope and Content

Log books: William Hughes and Hugh Roberts, gangers at Llangwyllog station, 1895 - 1914.


Administrative / Biographical History

The Anglesey Central Railway, from Gaerwen to Amlwch, was built in 1862 and opened in 1864; it became a branch line of the London and North Western Railway Company in 1863, and in 1923 became part of London Midland and Scottish Railways. After nationalisation it remained open, although passenger services ceased in 1964, and freight services stopped in the 1990s. It is currently mothballed. Llangwyllog station was built as part of the original line. The ganger was a chargehand responsible for overseeing a team undertaking maintenance work on the permanent way (track).


Trefnwyd yn gronolegol / Arranged chronologically

Conditions Governing Access

Dim cyfyngiadau/ No Restrictions

Acquisition Information

Adnau preifat / Private deposit.


Os gwelwch yn dda archebwch y dogfenau gan ddefnyddio y rhif cyfeirnod amgen (lle ddarperidd) / Please order documents using the alternative reference number (where provided)

Other Finding Aids

Mae copiau clawr caled o`r catalogau ar gael yn Archifau Ynys Môn ac yn y Gofrestr Cenedlaethol Archifau. Polisi Archifau Ynys Môn yw catalogio yn iaith y ddogfen./Hard copies of the catalogue are available at Archifau Ynys Môn / Anglesey Archives and the National Register of Archives. It is the policy of Archifau Ynys Môn / Anglesey Archives to catalogue in the language of the document.

Physical Characteristics and/or Technical Requirements

Cyflwr gweddol /Fair condition

Archivist's Note

Compiled by Seri Crawley for the ANW project. The following sources were consulted in the compilation of this description: Archifau Ynys Môn / Anglesey Archives, Minor list, Log books, ganger, Llangyllog Railway Station; Lein Amlwch website viewed 21 January 2004; LNWR Society website (, viewed 21 January 2004.

Appraisal Information

Mae'r holl gofnodiadau sy'n cydymffurfio â pholisi casglu Swyddfa Gofnodi Cyngor Sir Ynys Môn wedi eu cadw /All records which meet the collection policy of the Anglesey Archives have been retained.


Ni ddisgwylir croniadau/Accruals are not expected