Comprises registers of baptism, marriage, burials, banns and confirmation; service registers; records relating to church buildings and finances; records of the Parochial Church Council; records of parish clubs and societies and miscellanea.
Colwyn Bay Parish Records
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The new parish of Colwyn Bay was created in 1893 from the townships of Llwytgoed, Rhiw, and part of Dinerth, which until then had been in the ancient parish of Llandrillo-yn-Rhos. In 1900, Llwytgoed and part of Rhiw were transferred to the new parish of Bryn-y-Maen. The parish church of St Paul's was consecrated in 1888; the chancel being opened in 1895 and the tower in 1911. The foundation stone of St. David's, which was intended for the use of the Welsh-speaking congregation, was laid in 1902, the church being dedicated in 1903. St. David's is adjacent to St. Paul's.
The foundation stone of St. Andrew's, to serve the westerly end of the new parish, was laid in 1908.
Conditions Governing Access
This collection is open for research. Access to some documents may be restricted due to Data Protection legislation, Conwy Archives will advise where this is the case. For details and opening hours see http://www.conwy.gov.uk/en/Resident/Libraries-Museums-and-Archives/Archives/Archives.aspx.
Received from the parish by Denbighshire Record Office in 1977, transferred to the Conwy Archive Service in 2009.