Scope and Content

Comprising: minutes 1899-1978; accounts 1909-1970; Sunday school 1905-1963; anniversary brochures 1956, 1991

Administrative / Biographical History

The Methodist New Connexion formed a group in Doncaster in the late 1890s. After the union of 1903 this led to the creation of a United Methodist Society, named Ebenezer, on Morley Road. The society constructed a wood and iron church, known as the "Tin Tabernacle", in 1905. In 1915-1916 a new brick church was built on the corner of Beckett and Morley Roads, as part of the South Yorkshire Mission Circuit. The adjoining Sunday School rooms and caretaker's house which were planned were never built due to lack of finance. Following reorganization in 1944, the society became part of the Doncaster North East Circuit, and later became its head church. In 1964, the United Methodist Church merged with the Highfield Road Primitive Methodists to form the St Andrew's Society. The "Tin Tabernacle" was demolished to make way for a new church hall and Sunday School rooms, which were officially opened in March 1965. In 1973 when their church closed, the Netherhall Road Wesleyan Society joined St Andrew's Society. Unless otherwise stated, the records listed here are those of the Ebenezer church, later St Andrew's church.

Access Information



Access will be granted to any accredited member of Doncaster Libraries