Parish records of Stamford Bridge

Scope and Content

Includes register of christenings, 1868-1978; register of marriages, 1868-1978; register of burials, 1868-1978; register of banns, 1869-1916, 1919-1978; register of services, 1905-1978; churchwardens’ records, including accounts, 1937-1964, fabric papers, 1891, 1951-1970, and churchyard papers, 1970-1974; records of incumbent, including parsonage house papers, 1956; overseers’ accounts, 1765-1810; records concerning parish rooms and societies, including fete and Gift Days, accounts and papers, 1937-1958, and programme for opening village hall, 1957; school records, including specifications for school, 1905, and lease of old school house, 1912; surveyors’ records, including accounts, 1857-1864, 1889-1891, and rates, 1889-1893; Vestry/Parochial Church Council records, including minutes of meetings, 1858-1895.

Administrative / Biographical History

Stamford Bridge was a chapelry within the parish of Catton until 1868, when the new parish was formed from parts of Catton and Gate Helmsley.

A new church was built there in the 1860s, to a design by George Fowler Jones, and consecrated on 28 January 1868. The building work was partly funded by Charles Darley of Burtonfield Hall.

In 1957 it became the parish church of what was now the parish of Stamford Bridge with Catton and Scoreby. A new parsonage house was built in 1956 and the churchyard was enlarged in 1936.

Today the parish of Stamford Bridge with Catton and Scoreby is part of the Stamford Bridge Group of parishes, together with Scrayingham and Low Catton.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute in 1980.

Note

Stamford Bridge was a chapelry within the parish of Catton until 1868, when the new parish was formed from parts of Catton and Gate Helmsley.

A new church was built there in the 1860s, to a design by George Fowler Jones, and consecrated on 28 January 1868. The building work was partly funded by Charles Darley of Burtonfield Hall.

In 1957 it became the parish church of what was now the parish of Stamford Bridge with Catton and Scoreby. A new parsonage house was built in 1956 and the churchyard was enlarged in 1936.

Today the parish of Stamford Bridge with Catton and Scoreby is part of the Stamford Bridge Group of parishes, together with Scrayingham and Low Catton.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute. This includes all material received up to and including 1980.

Alternative Form Available

Registers of christenings, marriages and burials, 1868-1885, and banns, 1869-1900, are also available on microfilm at the Borthwick Institute (References: MF 786, 1763).

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 02.03.16.

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are expected.

Related Material

The parish records of Catton with Stamford Bridge are also deposited at the Borthwick Institute.

Additional Information

Published

GB 193