Original charter granted to Margam Abbey, 1358; Scanned copies of Royal Charters granted to Margam Abbey 12th cent.-1441
Margam Abbey charters
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Margam Abbey was founded in 1147 by Robert Consul, Earl of Gloucester, as a Cistercian house. The foundation gift consisted of lands between the rivers Afan and Kenfig. The abbey later received the manor of Resolven, and many other lands, making it the richest religious house in Wales. After its dissolution in 1537 the abbey lands were first leased and then sold to Sir Rhys Mansel of Oxwich, who made the abbey his home, and added the lands to his existing Gower estate. These lands became the Margam Estate. The first item listed here is an original confirmation charter, and the others are copies of original documents held at the National Library of Wales (NLW) in Aberystwyth. The majority of the records of Margam Abbey are held at the NLW (Penrice & Margam Mss).
Other Finding Aids
A hard copy is available at the West Glamorgan Archive Service
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright regulations apply.
All records received by the West Glamorgan Archive Service have been retained
Accruals are not expected.