Correspondence, minutes, accounts and financial documents of the Bridgman Charity Trust, which awarded money to schools in Teddington. The bulk of the collection (DC3/6) relates to the annual awards made to Christ Church School in Station Road, St Mark's School, and St Mary's & St Peter's School between 1927 and 1957.
Bridgman Charity Trust
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 358 DC3
- Dates of Creation1834 - 1968
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description2 boxes
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Teddington resident, Dame Dorothy Bridgeman (also spelt Bridgman) (1626-1697) stipulated in her will of 10th January 1694 that a proportion of her wealth be used in perpetuity to support the education of poor children in Teddington. This fund was administered by the vestry until 1898 when a separate trust was established. The original trustees were Henry Witten, James Edgell, and James St John-Hunt. The Bridgman Charity Trust made annual payments to particular schools, which were then awarded to nominated pupils. Throughout the 1920s and 1930s, the beneficiary schools were Christ Church School (also referred to as Station Road School), St Mark's School, and St Mary's & St Peter's School. From 1947, Victoria School also became a beneficiary. Throughout the first half of the 20th Century, the trustees included Stanley A Martin, Kenneth Ingram, Marshall Hainsworth (who stayed on as secretary after his term as trustee), Reverand Herbert Williams, Edwin Charles Stevens, Cornelius Richard Godfree, Mr R Victor Johnson, and Mr TW Miller.
The Bridgman Charity Trust Collection is arranged in six series:
- DC3/1 Correspondence, 1909-1943
- DC3/2 Minute and accounts books, 1834-1968
- DC3/3 Bank pass books, 1881-1934
- DC3/4 Cheque books, 1906-1955
- DC3/5 Account documents, 1909-1943
- DC3/6 Prize winners documents, 1927-1957
Conditions Governing Access
This collection is open for access and can be viewed at Richmond upon Thames Local Studies Library and Archive. No appointment is necessary to view archival material.
The opening times and address for Richmond upon Thames Local Studies Library and Archive can be found online at: http://www.richmond.gov.uk/localstudies
If you would like further information about accessing this collection or have any other queries, please contact Richmond upon Thames Local Studies Library and Archive through any of the contact methods listed at: http://www.richmond.gov.uk/localstudies
Other Finding Aids
A more detailed catalogue of this collection can be found online at https://richmond.spydus.co.uk/spydus.html