This private bank was formed in 1786 as Crickitt, Truelove & Kerridge. The original partners were C A Crickitt MP, who also founded the Colchester Bank, J Kerridge and William Truelove. In 1893 the business merged with Cox, Cobbold & Co. of Harwich with which common partners had been shared since about the 1830s. After many changes of partnership, the bank became known as Bacon, Cobbold & Co. from 1899. Branches were acquired or opened at Debenham (1839), Woodbridge (1846), Felixstowe (1892), Derby Road, Ipswich (1900) and Dovercourt (1901). Capital & Counties Bank (est. 1877) acquired the business in 1905.