Edwin Jackson Papers

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

Material consists of two accounts and one descriptive manuscript volume, which were part of the collection of Edwin Jackson. It relates to Bangor, the surrounding areas in Gwynedd and Anglesey.

The first account (item number 7365), with entries dating from 1716 to 1719, contains receipts and disbursements belonging to Benjamin Hoadley, Bishop of Bangor. Among the receipts are rents and presents due from various leaseholders in Anglesey and Caernarfonshire; tithes and annual payments due from the rectors and vicars of various parishes in Anglesey, Caernarfonshire, Denbighshire, Merioneth and Montgomeryshire. The disbursements include wages paid to household staff and tradesmen for work done at the Bishop's residence; money distributed to the poor; salaries of the curates of Amlwch, Llanddyfnan, Llangristiolus and Llanddyrnog, together with various taxes and odd expenses. The second account in this collection (item number 7367), dated 1836, which belonged to Robert Thomas, a Bangor timber merchant, contains entries relating to his business.

The other item (7366) is a bound manuscript description of Anglesey, not dated but containing information which suggests that it was probably written before 1782. There is no information regarding the author's identity but parts of the text are similar to that of A History of the Island of Anglesey, published by James Dodsley in 1775, without the author's name, but later ascribed to the Reverend John Thomas (1736-1769) a native of Ynyscynhaearn in Eifionydd who in 1766 became rector of Llandegfan and Llansadwrn and Headmaster of Beaumaris Grammar School, Anglesey. Inscriptions on the flyleaf and in the text indicate that the volume appears at various times to have been in the possession of Edward Llewelyn Williams of Beaumaris Road, Anglesey and of Hugh Jones of Cefnpoeth, Penmynydd.

The manuscript describes the general history of Anglesey, territorial divisions, population, chief industries of the island, its rivers, harbours and the history and contemporary condition of particular areas including Beaumaris, Holyhead, Newborough, Llanddwyn, Llandysilio and Tre-ffos.

Administrative / Biographical History

Edwin Jackson (fl. ca. 1920), headmaster at the Llandegai Church School, Gwynedd, was an enthusiastic local antiquary and botanist.

Arrangement

Material is arranged in chronological order and incorporated into the General Collection of Bangor Manuscripts .

Conditions Governing Access

Open to all users

Acquisition Information

Purchased in September 1948 by the Library, University College of North Wales, from Edwin Jackson's niece, Miss E. Jones, Bryn Mona, Ffriddoedd Road, Bangor, Gwynedd.

Note

Description compiled by Anne Lenaghan, November 2001

Other Finding Aids

Item level word-processed list is available at the Archives Department of the University of Wales, Bangor. Reference numbers: General Collection of Bangor Manuscripts: 7365-7367

Conditions Governing Use

Usual copyright conditions apply. Reprographics are made at the discretion of the Archivist.