National College Building

Scope and Content

Records documenting the construction of the National College Building, comprising

NC/5/1, Equipment;

NC/5/2, Appeals;

NC/5/3, Photographs;

NC/5/4, Plans.

Administrative / Biographical History

In the 1950s the expansion of student numbers and technology led the National College to seek new premises. Its original accommodation, a special laboratory building in the grounds of the Borough Polytechnic Annexe, was ill adapted and cramped. The Ministry of Education agreed to cover the cost of a new building and in 1959 the Governors appealed to Industry to cover the costs of the specialist equipment needed for the new building (please see NC/5/2). The building was located on the Southwark Bridge Road (it is now called the Faraday Wing) and contained laboratories for Heating, Ventilating, Air Conditioning, Fan Engineering, Refrigeration, Dust and Fume Removal and Heat Transfer. The new building was officially opened by the Minister for Education, David Eccles, MP on the 20 November 1961 although it had been open to students in October 1960 (please see NC/2/3/3 and NC/3/4).

Related Material

See Finance and General Purposes Committee minute book (NC/1/2/1) for minutes of the Building Sub-committee.

For publications on the National College building please see NC/2/3.