Society records of the Methodist Church, Wheldrake Methodist Chapel

Scope and Content

Records of Trustees', including meeting minute book, 1945-1971, Treasurer's account book, 1917-1971, and Trustees' bank book, 1954-1971; collection journal, 1945-1948; papers relating to the sale of the chapel and land, n.d; Sunday School records, including treasurer's account book, 1884-1955, admissions book, 1982, receipts and vouchers, 1942-1943, and 45th anniversary hymn sheet, 1927.

Administrative / Biographical History

Wheldrake Wesleyan Methodist Chapel was built on Main Street in 1863, although a 'chapel' (possibly a hired room on North Lane) was mentioned as early as 1823. The new chapel cost £340 and could accommodate 182 people. A schoolroom was added in 1894.

Originally part of the single York Circuit of the Wesleyan Methodist Connexion, Wheldrake joined York, New Street Circuit (later renamed Clifton Circuit) in 1867 and was transferred to the new York, Centenary Circuit in 1888.

Following the unification of the Primitive, Wesleyan and United Methodist Churches in 1932, it continued as part of the Centenary Circuit of what was now a unified Methodist Connexion.

The chapel was sold in 1970.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute prior to 1984. Further additions were made to the archive in 1984 and at a later date.

Note

Wheldrake Wesleyan Methodist Chapel was built on Main Street in 1863, although a 'chapel' (possibly a hired room on North Lane) was mentioned as early as 1823. The new chapel cost £340 and could accommodate 182 people. A schoolroom was added in 1894.

Originally part of the single York Circuit of the Wesleyan Methodist Connexion, Wheldrake joined York, New Street Circuit (later renamed Clifton Circuit) in 1867 and was transferred to the new York, Centenary Circuit in 1888.

Following the unification of the Primitive, Wesleyan and United Methodist Churches in 1932, it continued as part of the Centenary Circuit of what was now a unified Methodist Connexion.

The chapel was sold in 1970.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute.

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 28.11.16.

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are not expected.

Related Material

Further records concerning the Methodist chapel are deposited at the Borthwick Institute as part of the Wheldrake Church of England Parish Records. These comprise a book of pew rents, 1863-1890; Treasurer's account book, 1863-1916; Sunday School anniversaries' hymn sheets, 1886-1934; and a poster for laying the memorial stone for the New Wesleyan school room, 1894.

Circuit records for the York Circuit, York, New Street and York, Centenary Circuits of the Wesleyan Methodist Connexion, and the York, Centenary Circuit of the Methodist Connexion are also deposited at the Borthwick Institute. The records of the York Circuit and York, New Street Circuit form a single archive (MRC/1), as do the records of both Centenary Circuits (MRC/3).

Additional Information

Published

GB193