Minutes, 1772-1912; Scroll minutes, 1796-1803; Accounts, 1772-1802; Manager's minutes, 1883-1935; Communion roll, 1882-1896; Proclamation register, 1932-1973.
Records of Lower Largo Relief Church, United Presbyterian and St David's United Free Church
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 227 CH3/844
- Dates of Creation1772-1973
- Name of Creator
- Physical Description0.3 metres
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The Relief congregation of Largo dates back to the year 1771 and it is thought to have been established as the result of a group of parishioners who were expressing dissatisfaction with the Established Church. A church was erected to house the new congregation, which was later rebuilt in 1872, and on 18 March 1772 the first minister, Robert Patterson, was ordained. From 1847 the church was part of the United Presbyterian Church. Following the union of the United Presbyterian Church and the Free Church of Scotland in 1900, the congregation became Lower Largo United Free Church, later Lower Largo St David's U.F.; and following the union of the United Free Church and the Church of Scotland in 1929, Largo St David's Church of Scotland. In 1987 Largo St David's, which sits within the Presbytery of St Andrews, linked with the charge of Largo and Newburn.
Sources: Robert Small, The History of the Congregations of the United Presbyterian Church 1733-1900 (Edinburgh, 1904); John Alexander Lamb, The Fasti of the United Free Church of Scotland 1900-1929 (Edinburgh, 1956); Hew Scott and others (ed.), Fasti Ecclesiae Scoticanae, vols. 9-11 (Edinburgh, 1915-2000).
By appointment with the Archivist. Access to unpublished records less than 30 years old and other records containing confidential information may be restricted. Special conditions apply to photographs.
Held under charge and superintendence of the Keeper of Records for Scotland.
Description compiled by Rachel Hart, Archives Hub Project, based on description created by Lesley Doig and modified by Alan Borthwick, Scottish Archive Network project.
Other Finding Aids
Typescript catalogue available in St Andrews University Library Department of Special Collections and in National Archives of Scotland search rooms.
Conditions Governing Use
Applications for permission to quote should be sent to the University Archivist. Reproduction subject to usual conditions: educational use and condition of documents.