Jill Barton Collection

  • This material is held at
  • Reference
      GB 1840 JBa
  • Dates of Creation
      c 1991-2005
  • Name of Creator
  • Language of Material
  • Physical Description
      1 artwork box

Scope and Content

Original artwork by Jill Barton for six published titles. The collection contains preliminary and finished artwork for four picture books written by Martin Waddell - 'The Happy Hedgehog Band', 'The Pig in the Pond', 'Little Mo' and 'It's Quacking Time!' - and two chapter books written by Dick King-Smith - 'Lady Lollipop' and 'Clever Lollipop'. The collection also contains artwork for the published play of 'Lady Lollipop', adapted from the book by David Wood.

Administrative / Biographical History

Created by Jill Barton during the course of her career as an illustrator.


Artwork is sorted into series by titles, with titles arranged in order of publication date as follows:

- JBa/01 'The Happy Hedgehog Band'

- JBa/02 'The Pig in the Pond'

- JBa/03 'Little Mo'

- JBa/04 'Lady Lollipop'

- JBa/05 'Clever Lollipop'

- JBa/06 'It's Quacking Time!'

Access Information

Accessible to all researchers, by appointment only.

Custodial History

The three pieces of finished artwork for 'The Pig in the Pond' in this collection were purchased from Jill Barton by Seven Stories in 2010, through Images of Delight gallery. The rest of the material in the collection was subsequently donated to Seven Stories by Jill Barton.