Crafnant and Ceilwart Deeds

Scope and Content

Deeds and other documents, 1647-1892, relating to properties in Llanfair, Llanaber, Llanbedr, Llanenddwyn and Llandecwyn, Merionethshire.

Administrative / Biographical History

Crafnant, Llanfair, Merionethshire, was owned by Rhydderch Owen (fl. 1639-1647) and his descendants. By 1812 it was in the possession of John Owen (fl. 1781-1812) who left it to his son Owen Owens (d. [1837]). His eldest son and heir was John ap Rhydderch Owen (fl. 1835-1861) who moved to Glanrafon, Llanaber, Merionethshire. He also purchased a half share in Ceilwart, Llanaber, in 1861.

Arrangement

Arranged chronologically

Conditions Governing Access

No restrictions

Note

Compiled by Rhys Jones for the ANW project. The following source was used in the compilation of this description: Meirionnydd Archives, The Ceilwart and Crafnant Collection, calendar.

Other Finding Aids

Hard copies of the catalogue are available at Meirionnydd Archives and the National Library of Wales.

Conditions Governing Use

Usual copyright regulations apply

Appraisal Information

All records have been retained

Accruals

Accruals are not expected