Records relating to Capel Bryn Seion, Dyffryn Cellwen, including legal papers and papers connected with the building of Capel Bryn Seion, 1925-1953; church record book and minute book, 1934-1985; registers of members' contributions, 1931-1967; ledgers recording receipts and payments, 1931-1966; book of accounts for Cyrddau Llenyddol(literary meetings), 1938-1940; new members, 1932-1967; and correspondence and bills connected with the building of the chapel, 1933-1985.
Capel Bryn Seion, Dyffryn Cellwen, Records
- For more information, email the repository
- Advice on accessing these materials
- Cite this description
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
In 1933, Capel Bryn Seion was built. The cause, however, appears to date from two years earlier, when a number of members seceded from a neighbouring chapel in Onllwyn. In 1967, the chapel was closed after dwindling membership. The lease was surrendered in 1984.
Arranged into the following: Legal papers and papers connected with the building of Capel Bryn Seion, church record book and minute book, registers of members' contributions, ledgers recording receipts and payments, book of accounts for Cyrddau Llenyddol(literary meetings), new members, correspondence and bills connected with the building of the chapel.
Conditions Governing Access
It is the policy of the West Glamorgan Archive Service to withhold the names of depositors.
Compiled by Annette Strauch for the ANW project. The following source was used in the compilation of this description: West Glamorgan Archive Service, Capel Bryn Seion Records, catalogue.
Other Finding Aids
A hard copy of the catalogue is available at West Glamorgan Archive Service.
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright regulations apply.
All records have been retained
Accruals are not expected