- Memorandum and articles of association 1947;
- Minutes of members' meetings 1963;
- Financial records 1950 - 1968;
- Licensed premises records 1964 - 1965.
Records of Colmown Property Co Ltd, property company, Glasgow, Scotland
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 248 COL
- Dates of Creation1947-1968
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description0.03 metresThere are no physical characteristics that affect the use of this material
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Registered office, 161 Duke Street, Glasgow, Scotland . Colmown Property Co Ltd was a subsidiary of United Caledonian Breweries , Edinburgh, Scotland , and owned licensed houses and bars across Scotland. The first directors were A R McFadyen , W B Duthie , and P Scott , who acted as the company secretary. By 1963 J & R Tennent Ltd , brewers of Glasgow, Scotland , were the major shareholders in the company. Around 1965 there was a transfer of properties from United Caledonian Breweries , Edinburgh to Colmown Property Co Ltd . To date, no more of the company history is known. The company was dissolved on 24 August 1993 .
Sources: Companies House Website
The material is arranged according to the Scottish Brewing Archive classification scheme used within all SBA collections.
Conditions Governing Access
Tennent Caledonian Breweries Ltd
Other Finding Aids
File level list available in searchroom
Alternative Form Available
No known copies
Conditions Governing Use
Applications for permission to quote should be sent to the Archivist
Reproduction subject to usual conditions: educational use & condition of documents
This material has been appraised in line with standard GB 0248 procedures
The records were transferred from Tennent Caledonian Breweries head office to the Scottish Brewing Archive at Glasgow University. Custody of the Scottish Brewing Archive was transferred to Glasgow University Archive Services in 2008.
No known publications
This material is original
Fonds level description compiled by Alma Topen, Scottish Brewing Archivist, and Amanda Jackson, Scottish Brewing Archive Assistant, 24 February 2000. Catalogue converted to Encoded Archival Description, 8 June 2005. Catalogue revised by Natalie Milne, Hub Archives Assistant, October 1 2001; Wiebke Redlich, Archive Assistant (Hub), 16 January 2002; Emma Yan, Assistant Archivist, 28 November 2008; and Michelle Kaye, Archives Assistant, 09 May 2012.