Deeds, leases and other documents of the Benson family, 1827-1922, relating mainly to their industrial activities and their properties in Llanrhidian, Reynoldston, Briton Ferry, Cadoxton-juxta-Neath, Llangennith, Llangiwg, Llangyfelach, Llanmadog and Llansamlet, Glamorgan.
Benson Estate Papers
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The Benson family had its origins in North Yorkshire before moving to London. Thomas Starling Benson (1775-1858) was a merchant involved in several businesses including copper smelting. From the 1820s he became involved with the copper industry in Swansea and Glamorgan in co-partnership as Benson, Usborne and Company. Benson married three times. Starling Benson (1808-1879) was his son by his second wife, Hannah Newbury. Starling settled in Swansea in 1830, becoming Mayor in 1843 and Chairman of the Swansea Harbour Trust in 1856. He and his father's interests spread to include coal mining and they owned much mineral rich land in Glamorgan, in particular in the vicinity of Penclawdd in Llanrhidian. In about 1860 Starling moved from Swansea to Fairy Hill, Reynoldston. The bulk of his estate was inherited by Starling Meux Benson (1846-1933) and William Denman Benson (1848-1919), sons of his half brother, Henry Roxby Benson (1818-1892).
Conditions Governing Access
It is the policy of the West Glamorgan Archive Service to withhold the names of depositors.
Compiled by Rhys Jones for the ANW project. The following sources were used in the compilation of this description: West Glamorgan Archive Service, Catalogue of the Benson Estate Papers; Bayliffe, Dorothy M., and Joan N. Harding, Starling Benson of Swansea (Bridgend, 1996).
Other Finding Aids
Hard copies of the catalogue are available at West Glamorgan Archive Service and the National Register of Archives.
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright regulations apply.
Information not available
The records were accumulated by Strick and Bellingham (Solicitors) of Swansea.
Accruals are not expected