The former National (Church) school was built in 1866 from a design by Lloyd Williams. The entry slab in the boys’ porch stated that the school had been built in 1866 and 1875 at a cost of £1,074. It was a mixed junior and infant school and by the 1890s was averaging 50-60 scholars on roll increasing to 94 by 1903. By 1908 it was known as Llannefydd NP School – funded as part of the 1902 Education Act but still able to operate as a church school. The school building could accommodate 32 scholars in the infants’ room and 52 in the main classroom. In April 1920 there were 69 scholars on the books and Edward Henry Griffiths was the new head teacher. By April 1925 that number was 71.
Log book entries often saw the Head teacher complain about the physical state of the school building. It had no running water or proper heating. A report from the county architect in 1934 commented on the poor state of the school. (ED/LB/52/4 page 209).
There was then issued a notice of intention of Denbighshire Education Authority to provide a new school for about 100 children in the parish of Llannefydd, and an LEA decision to cease to maintain the school after July of 1936. This did not happen and the head teacher continued to chart the school’s indoor room temperatures in the log book (page 369). A petition requesting a new school had first been sent in 1935 – signed by 95% of the parents of the parish.
Head teacher Edward Griffiths retired in May 1938 after 18 years in the role. By April 1941 there were 40 scholars on roll.
The parish finally got their new school (the present school) when the old national school building was closed in December 1953 and the new school building was opened in January 1954. The new, modern primary school was designed according to the 1944 Education Act as a dual purpose building with 2 classrooms 21ft x 20ft each, and a Hall for assembly and dining, and separate kitchen. It was built by Clifford Hughes & Co from Ruthin, was brick built with heat, light and water. The new school was opened with 32 pupils on roll and a new head teacher, Hywel Madoc Jones. The school is now known as Ysgol Llannefydd, and is a Welsh medium school with 50 pupils on roll (2016).
Present day school – Ysgol Llannefydd
DD/DM/341/43 – Denbighshire Free Press - January 16th 1954 page 2 (photograph of the new school) - and January 23rd 1954 page 2
This is a mixed Welsh and English language collection. It is our policy to catalogue an item in the language it is written.