Material relating to the foundation and development of the firm 1866-1939; Director and Shareholders records 1866-1939; financial records 1866-1950; wage and salary records 1874-1947; production and stock records 1867-1947; agreements and tenders 1897-1958; patent records 1825-1937; letter books and correspondence 1870-1945; records of associated companies 1889-1938; property records 1866-1926; papers relating to the tin-plate trade 1874-1939; miscellaneous papers c1880-1940.
Old Castle Tinplate Company Records
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The Old Castle Iron and Tinplate Company Limited (later to be known as the Old Castle Tinplate Company) was formed in 1866 by Messrs. Joseph Mayburry, Henry Thomas, W. Rosser and Capt. Samuel. The works were erected on a site called Pen Castell from which the company derived its name. Two mills were erected initially, by 1876 this had increased to 4 and by 1893 to 11 mills. In 1937 the works were amalgamated with the Western Tinplate Company and in 1939 the works were acquired by the Llanelly Associated Tinplate Companies Limited and ceased to operate as a company in its own right. In 1947 the works were acquired by The Steel Company of Wales Limited.
Conditions Governing Access
Accessible to all researchers by appointment. Please note that some collections contain sensitive information and access may be restricted.
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright regulations apply