Records of the Principals of Queen Mary College, formerly East London College, 1910-1990, comprising correspondence files relating to College departments, [1940-1982]; Military Education Committee, 1947-1973; research studentships, 1931-1936; post graduate courses, 1941; Fellowships and studentships, 1947-1957; London County Council, 1936-1945; People's Palace, 1932-1956, including papers relating to the public inquiry, 1932, following the fire of 1931; war damage to buildings, 1944-1945; requisition of buildings and occupation of hostels by WAAFs, [1940s]; rebuilding, 1911-1943, largely alterations to blocks; public lectures and functions, 1937-1955; hostels, 1930-1970; correspondence with Consultant Engineer, 1934-1939, relating to College buildings and services; correspondence with the City and Guilds, 1922-1938; Drapers' Company, 1933-1945; Governing Body agendas, [1924-1969]; papers, including minutes, of the Committee of Deans, 1956-1971; Registrars' files, 1950-1955; quinquennial development, 1910-1933, 1957-1972; Collegiate Council papers, 1969-1970; press cuttings, 1939-1972.
Principals' records of Queen Mary College
- For more information, email the repository
- Advice on accessing these materials
- Cite this description
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 370 QMC/PS
- Dates of Creation1910-1990
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description351 boxes
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The first principal of East London College (later Queen Mary College) was John Leigh Streatham Hatton, from 1908 to 1933. He was also Director of Studies of the People's Palace Schools from 1896. Later principals were Major General Sir Frederick Barton Maurice, 1933-1944, Benjamin Ifor Evans, 1944-1951, Sir Thomas Percival Creed, 1952-1967, Sir Harry Melville, 1967-1976, Sir James Woodham Menter, 1976-1986 and Professor Ian Butterworth, 1986-1991.
Apply to Archivist. The Archives are available for access in the Archives Reading Room located on the 2nd Floor of the Mile End Library. The Archives Reading Room is open Mondays to Fridays 9am-4pm by appointment only. Contact the Archives for more information: Archives, Main Library QMUL, 328 Mile End Rd, London E1 4NS, telephone: 020 7882 3873, email: firstname.lastname@example.org . For more information about the Archives see the website: library.qmul.ac.uk/archives
Other Finding Aids
Box list available on request.