Parish records of York, All Saints, North Street

Scope and Content

Includes register of christenings 1578-1644, 1649-1889 (note this register uses the Dade registration scheme for the years 1777-1812); register of marriages 1578-1642, 1649-1981; register of burials 1578-1642 and 1649-1848 (note this register uses the Dade registration scheme for the years 1777-1812); register of banns 1863-1894, 1913-1960; register of services 1906-1908, 1934-1936, 1939-1943 and 1948-1971; register of confirmations 1905-1947; charity records, including minutes of meetings 1818, details of parish estate and trusts 1865, accounts 1748-1865, and rental 1758-1875; churchwardens’ records, including accounts, 1645-1927, and fabric papers, 1819, 1880-1889; financial papers, including quarterly income accounts book for parochial income, 1921-1963, quarterly income accounts book for secular income, 1945-1963, account book for non-ecclesiastical and parish estate monies, 1963-1967, and accounts sheet, 1981; marriage settlement of incumbent, 1880; Sunday School roll book and journal 1900-1903; vestry/Parochial Church Council minutes of meetings 1734-1806, 1818-1881; visitors’ book, 1910-1912.

Administrative / Biographical History

The ancient parish and church of All Saints, North Street was first mentioned in a document of 1166-1179 when the advowson was confirmed as a gift to Holy Trinity Priory. Following the Dissolution of the Monasteries in the sixteenth century the advowson passed to the Crown who retained it until 1868 when it was transferred to the Archbishop of York.

In 1548 there were proposals to unite the parish with St John’s, Ouse Bridge End, but the parish remained intact. In 1957, the benefice, but not the parish, was united with St Mary Bishophill Senior, and presentation to the united benefice was assigned to the Dean and Chapter of York Minster.

Though the site of the church is thought to date to at least Norman times, the church fabric is largely fifteenth century, incorporating stained glass from the fourteenth. The windows feature numerous religious and heraldic scenes, of which some are unique or rare in European iconography. Some of the glass was restored by J. W. Knowles of York in 1861. The chancel screens were made by Edwin Ridsdale Tate in 1906.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute in 1969 by the incumbent of the parish. Further additions were made to the archive in 1983, 1993, 1999 and 2001.

Note

The ancient parish and church of All Saints, North Street was first mentioned in a document of 1166-1179 when the advowson was confirmed as a gift to Holy Trinity Priory. Following the Dissolution of the Monasteries in the sixteenth century the advowson passed to the Crown who retained it until 1868 when it was transferred to the Archbishop of York.

In 1548 there were proposals to unite the parish with St John’s, Ouse Bridge End, but the parish remained intact. In 1957, the benefice, but not the parish, was united with St Mary Bishophill Senior, and presentation to the united benefice was assigned to the Dean and Chapter of York Minster.

Though the site of the church is thought to date to at least Norman times, the church fabric is largely fifteenth century, incorporating stained glass from the fourteenth. The windows feature numerous religious and heraldic scenes, of which some are unique or rare in European iconography. Some of the glass was restored by J. W. Knowles of York in 1861. The chancel screens were made by Edwin Ridsdale Tate in 1906.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute. This includes all material received up to and including 2001.

Alternative Form Available

Selected records, including registers of christenings, 1578-1889, marriages, 1578-1885, burials, 1578-1848, and banns, 1863-1894, rentals, 1758-1875, feoffees account book, 1782-1865, and poor accounts, 1748-1803, are also available on microfilm at the Borthwick Institute (References: MF 821, 1756, 1777, 1779).

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 09.11.15

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are expected.

Related Material

For related material held by the Borthwick Institute, see the parish records of York, St Wilfrid which include an agreement and related correspondence concerning a dispute between All Saints North Street and St Wilfrid over the rating of Lendal Bridge, 1864-1866.

Additional Information

Published

GB 193