Salvation Army homes for women: Grove House and Hillsborough House Inebriates' Homes

Scope and Content

These are the records of Grove House and Hillsborough House, Homes for Inebriate Women, 1896-1907.

This collection comprises one Statement Book which contains details of individual female residents. Information is registered in two sections: admissions ('History') and exit ('Career after leaving the home').

The collection is arranged as follows:

GHHH/1: Grove House and Hillsborough House Statement Book

Administrative / Biographical History

Grove House was opened as a Salvation Army Rescue Home in 1889; in 1896 it was redesignated an Inebriates' Home for Women and in 1901 the work was transferred to Hillsborough House. In 1907 the residents of Hillsborough House were transferred to The Salvation Army's new centre at Springfield Lodge.

Access Information

Open for research. The reading room of The Salvation Army International Heritage Centre is open Tue-Fri 9.30-4.00. It is advisable to make an appointment. Tel: 0207 326 7800; email: .

Other Finding Aids

A multi-level description of this collection can be accessed in the International Heritage Centre's online catalogue: . A paper catalogue is available in the reading room of the International Heritage Centre.