'The History of the University and University College'

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

Typescript version of the text by Thomas William Bamford that was subsequently published as 'The University of Hull: The First Fifty Years'

Administrative / Biographical History

Thomas William Bamford joined the University in 1955. He became the Director of the Institute of Education in 1970.

In the preface Bamford says the idea for the history was first raised in 1973 but the project gained real momentum following research conducted into the early history of University College by Richard Preston in 1974-1975. It was eventually published by Oxford University Press in 1978 under the title 'The University of Hull: The First Fifty Years'. The book features a number of photographs including the laying of the Foundation Stone (in 1928) and the visit of HM Queen Elizabeth II (in 1955). There is also a number of photographs of university staff including Sir Brynom Jones; Arthur Eustace Morgan; Right Hon. Lord Middleton and Dr John Henry Nicholson.

Conditions Governing Access

Access will be granted to any accredited reader

Conditions Governing Use

Thomas William Bamford

Custodial History

Received from the Vice Chancellor, 1986

Related Material

'Sketch of the Ancient History of Kingston upon Hull' [Ref U DX32/1]

Draft of Gillett and MacMahon's 'A History of Hull' [Ref U DX239/1], research notes [Ref U DX170]

Laying the foundation stone for University College, Hull by the Duke and Duchess of York [Ref U DX174; U DX171/5]; 'The Daily Mail' report of the visit [Ref U DDKG/265] and Printed Souvenir brochure of the Ceremony featuring a number of photographs and text from speeches given [C DBHG/89]