Parish records of Yapham cum Meltonby

Scope and Content

Includes register of christenings, 1707-1988 (note this register uses the Dade registration scheme for the years 1779-1812); register of marriages, 1734-1754, 1757-1802, 1804-1836, 1838-1961; register of burials, 1654-1811, 1837-1988 (note this register uses the Dade registration scheme for the years 1779-1811); register of banns, 1824-1943; register of services, 1909-1916, 1939-1963; other registration material, 1914; charity records, including schedule of land and notes of Yapham charity, 1863-1865, and Yapham Church, School and Poor Charity papers, 1822-1955; churchwardens’ records, including accounts, 1882, 1923-1985, and fabric papers, 1902-1979; school records, including register, 1864-1867, managers’ correspondence, 1949-1970, and papers, 1864-1968; Vestry/Parochial Church Council records, including enclosure award, 1733, and correspondence regarding common land and Yapham pond, 1950-1968.

Administrative / Biographical History

There was a church of Yapham cum Meltonby from at least the twelfth century, although the independent parish was only formed in 1989. Prior to this date, the church had been attached to that of Pocklington and the parish was described as a chapelry of Pocklington in 1892, subject to the same peculiar jurisdiction of the Dean of York until the 1840s. An exchange of parts of the parish with Barmby Moor took place on 8 April 1960.

The present parish church is dedicated to St Martin, although it had been dedicated to St Nicholas until the nineteenth century. It dates to the thirteenth century but was largely rebuilt in 1777-1778 and then restored c.1902 by architect William Anelay.

Today Yapham cum Meltonby parish is part of the Barmby Moor Group benefice, which also includes Barmby Moor, Fangfoss and Thornton on Spalding Moor.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute in 1979 by the incumbent. Further additions were made to the archive in 1982, 1988 and 1989.

Note

There was a church of Yapham cum Meltonby from at least the twelfth century, although the independent parish was only formed in 1989. Prior to this date, the church had been attached to that of Pocklington and the parish was described as a chapelry of Pocklington in 1892, subject to the same peculiar jurisdiction of the Dean of York until the 1840s. An exchange of parts of the parish with Barmby Moor took place on 8 April 1960.

The present parish church is dedicated to St Martin, although it had been dedicated to St Nicholas until the nineteenth century. It dates to the thirteenth century but was largely rebuilt in 1777-1778 and then restored c.1902 by architect William Anelay.

Today Yapham cum Meltonby parish is part of the Barmby Moor Group benefice, which also includes Barmby Moor, Fangfoss and Thornton on Spalding Moor.



Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute. This includes all material received up to and including 1989.

Alternative Form Available

Registers of christenings, 1707-1988, marriages, 1707-1836, burials, 1654-1811, and banns, 1824-1900, are also available on microfilm at the Borthwick Institute (References: MF 819, 1581, 1763).

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 23.03.16.

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are expected.

Additional Information

Published

GB 193