B. R. Parry Draft Copy of 'The History of the Nannau Family to 1623' Thesis

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

Draft copy of The History of the Nannau Family to 1623 thesis, 1958

Administrative / Biographical History

Brynle Rees Parry was the Caernarfonshire County Archivist. He wrote 'The History of the Nannau Family to 1623' for his thesis in 1958. The Nannau family lineage could be traced back to the 11th century, to Bleddyn ap Cynfyn, Prince of Powys and North Wales. His son, Cadwgan, founded the estate named "Nannau" near Dolgellau, Merionethshire. During the late 1500s and early 1600s, members of the family took a variant form of the name of their estate as their family name.

Arrangement

Single item.

Conditions Governing Access

No restrictions.

Note

Compiled by Seri Crawley for the ANW project. The following sources were used in the compilation of this description: Meirionnydd Archives, Miscellaneous Collection (Dolgellau), B. R. Parry Draft Copy of The History of the Nannau Family to 1623 Thesis; Nicholas, Thomas, Annals and Antiquities of the Counties and County families of Wales: vol. II (London, 1872); Harris, Mary Corbett, Llanfachreth: bygones of a Merioneth parish (Dolgellau, 1973); The Dictionary of Welsh Biography down to 1940 (London, 1959)

Other Finding Aids

Hard copies of the catalogue are available at Meirionnydd Archives, the National Register of Archives and the National Library of Wales. The catalogue is available online.

Conditions Governing Use

Usual copyright laws apply.

Appraisal Information

All records deposited at Meirionnydd Archives have been retained

Accruals

Accruals are not expected.

Related Material

Further papers relating to the Nannau estate are Department of Manuscripts University of Wales Bangor Library, Nannau MSS; Meirionnydd Archives, Z/DBM (Mary Vaughan Papers)and Z/DCE, The Nannau Estate Papers. Papers of the Vaughan family are Gwynedd Archives, Meirionnydd Archives, Z/DCE; National Library of Wales MS 11508 nos 781-3, 1010-4, 1461, and Dol' rhyd 15-30. The main Rug archive is in Caernarfon Record Office, XD/2 (Newborough Archives).