Colne Valley Labour Party records

Scope and Content

Comprises: Colne Valley Division of the Labour Union Minutes, 1891; Colne Valley Labour League Minutes, 1900-1910; Colne Valley Socialist League Minutes, 1910-1917; ILP Federation Minutes, 1919-1928; Colne Valley Divisional Labour Party, 1917-1951; Committee Minutes 1928-1992; Branch Minutes for Holmfirth (1949-1954), Meltham (1893-1929) and Slaithwaite (1899-1931, 1964-1971); Annual reports, 1912-1987 (some gaps); Register of Members, 1901-1994 (some gaps); Elections, 1918-1983; Accounts, 1942-1984; Branch accounts for Golcar, Linthwaite, Marsden, Milnsbridge, Saddleworth, Slaithwaite and Smithriding; Correspondence, 1970-1990s; Photographs; Victor Grayson election material and pamphlets; Jubilee History, 1891-1941

Administrative / Biographical History

Colne Valley Labour Party started in 1891 as the Colne Valley Division of the Labour Union and in 1900 became Colne Valley Labour League and Colne Valley Socialist League in 1910. Victor Grayson was M.P. for the Colne Valley between 1907 and 1910.

Access Information

Available to all researchers, by appointment


In English

Other Finding Aids

A handlist of the Colne Valley Labour Party records is available