Llangyfelach Petty Sessions

Scope and Content

Court minute books 1845-1870 The final volume covers Pontardawe Division from February 1868.

Administrative / Biographical History

Llangyfelach Petty Sessions began with magistrates exercising jurisdiction over the ancient Hundred of Llangyfelach, which included the parishes of Llangyfelach, Llangiwg and Llansamlet, the hamlet of St Thomas, and Parcel Iscoed, which was a detached portion consisting of the Penclawdd â?¢ Three Crosses area. The division was abolished in February 1868. The northern and eastern part, consisting of Llangiwg parish and the Hamlets of Rhyndwyclydach and Llansamlet Higher, made up the majority of the new Pontardawe Division, while the remainder became part of Swansea Hundred Petty Sessions.


Arranged in date order.

Conditions Governing Access

Items within this collection which contain information on named individuals may be restricted in accordance with the Data Protection Act.

Acquisition Information

It is the policy of the West Glamorgan Archive Service not to disclose the identities of depositors.


Compiled by Andrew Dulley, West Glamorgan Archive Service.

Other Finding Aids

A hard copy catalogue at item level is available at the West Glamorgan Archive Service, and an online version is on the West Glamorgan Archive Service website.

Conditions Governing Use

Normal copyright regulations apply

Usual copyright regulations apply.

Appraisal Information

All records have been retained


Accruals are not expected.

Related Material

See also the records of Pontardawe Petty Sessions (P/S Pd), Swansea Hundred Petty Sessions (P/S S) and Lliw Valley Petty Sessions (P/S Lli), at the West Glamorgan Archive Service.