DEDDINGTON FIRE BRIGADE

Scope and Content

This volume was deposited with us in June 1983 and it was then assigned the accession number 2150. It relates to the Deddington volunteer fire brigade.

The origin of the fire brigade is to a stone barn in the centre of the green in Deddington which was built in 1849 as a coalhouse for the Deddington coal charity and this was later used to house

the parish fire engine until a new fire station was built on the Banbury Road. The volunteer fire brigade was founded n 1883 and taken over by the parish council in 1896.

Catalogued by Jeanette Grisold, June 1993.

Access Information

Open