Papers of the Friends of Sealyham Hospital Comforts Society, 1948-1966, including minutes, 1948-1966; correspondence and balance sheets, 1957-1966.
Papers of the Friends of Sealyham Hospital Comforts Society
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 213 DSO/24
- Dates of Creation1948-1966
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical DescriptionTo be supplied
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Sealyham mansion, St Dogwells, Pembrokeshire, became a tuberculosis hospital 1923, funded by the King Edward VII Welsh National Memorial Association for the treatment of Tuberculosis. The Friends of Sealyham Hospital Comforts Society (otherwise Friends of Sealyham Hospital, or Friends of Sealyham Comforts Society) was active until Sealyham Hospital closed in 1966, providing recreational materials and funds for the patients. Its Secretary was Mrs Morgan of Ambleston.
Conditions Governing Access
Deposited by the Rev. T. Morgan, The Vicarage, Ambleston, 1972.
Compiled by Rhys Jones for the ANW project. The following sources were used in the compilation of this description: Pembrokeshire Record Office, Papers of the Friends of Sealyham Hospital Comforts Society, catalogue; Jones, Francis, Historic Houses of Pembrokeshire and their Families (Newport, Pembrokeshire, 1996).
Other Finding Aids
Hard copies of the catalogue are available at Pembrokeshire Record Office.
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright regulations apply
All records have been retained
Accruals are not expected