Records of Isle of Man Authors Group

Scope and Content

The deposit contains general minutes September 1983-July 2008, committee minutes May 1984-May 2008, mailing lists 1996-2008 and newsletters 1985-2008. Additional content is an undated report by the chairman, list of books published by members of the society, blank membership application forms for society membership, draft letter to the Managing Director of Manx Radio (n.d), correspondence regarding the 'Short Story Competition 1990' and material regarding open days and writing workshops run by the society 1986-1995. Yearly programme's 2006-2008, a short account of past activities penned by Mrs Hilda Mander (secretary) 2008 and a scrapbook of newspaper cuttings, photographs and ephemera 1982-2000 are also present.

Administrative / Biographical History

The Society of Authors (UK) is a trade union for professional writers that protects the rights and furthers the interests of authors. It has connections to numerous regional groups and in 1983 a subsidiary group called the Isle of Man Authors Group was established on the Isle of Man. The group was created by a number of established writers who were resident on the Island and who wanted a formal society where people could meet and discuss all aspects of writing. The group gave automatic membership to members of the Society of Authors with non-members charged a small annual fee. Membership was also open to writers of scripts for films, television, radio and poetry, as well as books of fiction and non-fiction. The group had a president, chairman, treasurer, secretary and a committee. Members of the Isle of Man Authors group met regularly for talks, discussions and to give advice to one another regarding various projects. Socializing also played a significant role within the group and many formal events such as luncheons and dinners were held. Further activities of the group included open days and evenings, periodical writing competitions, weekend conferences and sessions with speakers (all of were open to the public). Speaker sessions with prominent writers included Vivian Allen (1925-), Sheila Holland (1937-2000), P.D. James (1920-2014), Magnus Magnusson (1929-2007), Rosemary Anne Sisson (1923-) and Philip Ziegler (1923-). In 2008 membership for the Isle of Man Authors Group was in decline and its president Vivian Allen left the Island for England. It was therefore agreed to dissolve the group and its remaining funds donated to a writers' charity via the Society of Authors in London.

Access Information

The mailing list item will be subject to data protection.

Advance notification of a research visit is advisable by emailing

Archivist's Note

The biographical information was gathered from Manx newspapers situated in the deposit’s scrapbook and the website

Fonds-level description created by Eleanor Williams (MNH Project Archivist), October 2015.