The parish of Bix is situated about 20 miles south-east of Oxford and 3 miles north-west of Henley-on-Thames. The original parish church St James, was located in the hamlet of Bix Brand and ceased to be the church in 1874 due to structural problems. A new church was built as a gift to the parish from the patron of the living Lord Parker, sixth Earl of Macclesfield.
The records were originally deposited in the Bodleian Library by Rev SF Dakin, priest-in-charge of Bix in 1979. Further material was deposited in 1979 as accession 1655 by Rev SF Dakin. The material was then transferred to the Oxfordshire History Centre. Further material was deposited as Acc 6066 in March 2012, as Acc 6194 in July 2013, as Acc 6544 in February 2017 and as Acc 6586 in June 2017.
A conspectus of new and old references is included at the end of this catalogue. Catalogued by Alison Smith, March 2007 with additions in March 2012, January 2017 and January 2018.