Acrefair Central/Secondary Modern School, records of

Scope and Content

Acrefair Central School opened in September 1931. The school became a Secondary Modern School in 1945 and renamed Madoc County Secondary 1962. The school was later renamed Ysgol Madoc, Acrefair (Comprehensive) in 1967.

The Madoc school closed in 1972 with the arrival of the comprehensive school system. The building on Llangollen Road was later used as the county primary school, Acrefair.


Llangollen Road, Acrefair

The collection consists of managers minutes, correspondence and plans.

Related Material-

ED/X/16/1- Plan of proposed new Central School

ED/16- Acrefair Board/ Council School records (1872-1970)


Collection arranged by-

1. Manager's minutes

2. Correspondence

3. Plans

Access Information

All school records containing personal or sensitive information are closed for 75 years. This includes log books, admission and attendance registers and some minute books.

Archivist's Note

Transferred from Denbighshire Education department, no accession date on record

Conditions Governing Use

Usual copyright restrictions apply.

Geographical Names