Records of the Gorddinog estate in the parishes of Aber and Llanfairfechan, Caernarfonshire, and of Madryn home farm in the parish of Aber, [c. 1852]-1953, including account books, 1891-1951; letter books, 1891-1953; statement of accounts, 1929-1945; timber records, 1888-1946; Madryn farm records, 1890-1947; business letters, 1900-1938; personal papers, including family Bible and newspaper cuttings, 1857-1949; maps and plans, [c. 1884]-[c. 1914]; and Gorddinog photographs, [c. 1852]-[c. 1919].
Gorddinog Estate Records
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
John Platt, M.P. (1817-1872) of Oldham, Lancashire, made his fortune from the manufacture of cotton machinery; politically, he was a radical, supporting the Anti Corn League. He was regarded as the 'Father of the Oldham Corporation'. After missing the Bulkeley land sale e owned the Bryn y Neuadd and Gorddinog estates whose acreage covered parts of the parishes of Aber and Llanfairfechan, Caernarfonshire. John and Alice Platt had a large family, there were seven sons and six daughters but only one of the sons took any real interest in their father's business - this was his second son Samuel who lived in the family mansion Wernerth Park in Oldham. Henry Platt, the oldest son, moved to the new Gorddinog mansion his father had built for him after his marriage in 1868. He remained there until his death, declining to move to the family seat at Bryn y Neuadd after his father's demise. Colonel Henry platt took an active part in the public and social life of the county and had been a county magistrate since he was 25 and became the first mayor of Bangor. He was a staunch Conservative and unsuccessfully contested the 1900 Caernarfon Boroughs, his opponent was David Lloyd George.
Conditions Governing Access
This collection is open for research. Access to some documents may be restricted due to Data Protection legislation, Conwy Archives will advise where this is the case. For details and opening hours see http://www.conwy.gov.uk/en/Resident/Libraries-Museums-and-Archives/Archives/Archives.aspx.
Donated to Gwynedd Archives Service, c.1972. Transferred by GAS to Conwy Archive in 2000.