Bryneglwys National School opened on 3rd March 1873. National schools are often known as 'Church Schools' and were affiliated with the local parish church.
29 scholars were admitted to the school on the first day, both boys and girls. The school divided into boys and girls and infants. The first Headteacher was William Jones and subsequent headteachers were as follows-
1875 - W. Naylor
April 3rd 1919 - M.T. Williams
6th January 1920 - Dilys Jones
7th September 1920 - Tom Owens
The school had on average 50 scholars, affected by attendance due to rural nature of school where children were employed in agricultural activities, bad weather and various epidemics.
The school closed in 2013 with children to be educated in Ysgol Dyffryn Ial in Llandegla.
Street name- N/A
Ordnance survey coordinates - 25 inch O.S. maps 1874 edition 33-4
The collection includes: log books and accounts.
Related material held at Denbighshire Archives-
PD/11/1/19- Manager's minutes