Miscellaneous records of the United Society of Boiler Makers and Iron and Steel Shipbuilders
Records of Local branches of the United Society of Boiler Makers and Iron and Steel Shipbuilders
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
These records relate to the United Society of Boilermakers and Iron and Steel Shipbuilders, formed from the United Friendly Boilermakers Society in 1852 with the merger of the Scottish Society of Boilermakers and the Amicable and Provident Society of Journeymen Boilermakers of Great Britain. The United Friendly Boilermakers Society had its origins in the formation in 1834 of the Society of Friendly Boilermakers with a membership of fourteen and William Hughes as the first general secretary. In 1852 there were 2000 members. The Society stressed brotherhood and it adhered to strict rules about the age and health of its membership because it paid generous sickness benefits to workers and centralised branch funds aided members during trade depressions. In 1870 the Society affiliated to the Trades Union Council and there was a later name change to the United Society of Boilermakers, Shipbuilders and Structural Workers.
The Amalgamated Society of Boilermakers, Shipwrights, Blacksmiths and Structural Workers came into existence in 1963 as a result of the amalgamation of the United Society of Boilermakers, Shipbuilders and Structural Workers with the Associated Blacksmiths, Forge and Smithy Workers Society, and the Shipconstructors and Shipwrights Association. After the amalgamation each society continued to operate independently for trade purposes until full integration took place six years later. In 1971 the membership was around 30,000 and was largely involved in shipbuilding. The Society represented workers involved in shipbuilding engineering trades, for example, welders, riveters and boilermakers.
Conditions Governing Access
Access will be granted to any accredited reader
Received from AD Rimmington, Hessle, 17 September 1985 [U DX168/1], 24 September 1986 [U DX168/2-4], 8 April 1987 [U DX168/5-12], 12 November 1987 [U DX168/13] and April 1990 [U DX168/14-17]