Archive of the University of Liverpool: Records of Benefactors and Members of Council

Scope and Content

Contains the Records of the following Benefactors and Members of Council

  • Mr James W. Alsop
  • Reverend Charles Beard
  • Miss A. Lois Bulley
  • The Bulley Family, Ness Gardens, and Bees Ltd: Personal and Business Records
  • Photograph of Council and Senate Members at Dinner
  • Colonel V. E. Cotton
  • Mr. H.B. Chrimes
  • Will and codicil of Sir William Bower Forwood
  • Charles W. Jones
  • Sir Charles Sydney Jones
  • Papers of Duncan Norman
  • Photocopies of papers re the Victoria Building's clock (gift of Michael S. Potts member of Council)
  • William Rathbone VI (1819-1902)
  • Eleanor Rathbone, (1872-1946)
  • Joseph Williams
  • Mrs. Anne Yates
  • Mr Richard Vaughan Yates (Princes Park)

Administrative / Biographical History

The establishment of University College Liverpool was funded largely by the generous benefactions of local people and businesses, this generosity has continued to the present day.

The University Council is the governing body of the University and shall have the custody and use of the Common Seal, the management and administration of the whole revenue and property of the University and the conduct of affairs of the University.


Arranged into alphabetical order.

Access Information

Please phone (0151 794 2696) or email for an appointment; you may reserve material in advance.

For non University of Liverpool visitors, please bring some form of photo id (e.g. driving licence, travel pass, passport); Sydney Jones Library reception desk staff will issue you with a day pass.

Please note that some materials may be closed or have restricted access.

Related Material