Records of Clement Park House / Florence Booth House

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

These are the records of Clement Park House/Florence Booth House, Dundee (CLH), 1932-1990s.

In 1918 the Dundee Mothers' and Children's Home opened at Seafield Lodge, Dundee. In June 1927 the home was removed to Cidhmore, Perth Road, Dundee. In December 1928 the home re-located to Clement Park House, Harefield Road, Lochee, Dundee. On 30 April 1929 the official opening took place, at which the building was named Florence Booth House. A children's section opened in 1969 and the maternity section closed in August 1970. In 1991 the children's home was closed, and re-opened with the name Clement Park Hostel, as part of the Army's Dundee Homelessness Project. In October 2006 the Centre was closed, sold and redeveloped as flats with new-build homes in the grounds.

The arrangement of the records is as follows:

CLH 1. Mothers' and Children's Home

CLH 2. Children's Home

CLH 3. Leaflet for Clement Park House

CLH 4. Photographs

Administrative / Biographical History

In 1918 the Dundee Mothers' and Children's Home opened at Seafield Lodge, 91-93 Magdalen Green, Dundee. In June 1927 the home was removed to Cidhmore, Perth Road, Dundee.

In December 1928 the home was re-located to Clement Park House, Harefield Road, Lochee, Dundee. Clement Park House was built for famous jute baron James Cox and was completed in about 1862. He named the mansion after his wife, Clementina.

On 30 April 1929 the official opening took place, at which the building was named Florence Booth House, after the founder of the Women's Social Work wing of the Salvation Army. In October 1935 an extension was added for married patients, and the following month an ante-natal clinic started. This was followed on 9 December 1937 by additional extension, this time to provide associates' quarters.

As of 9 April 1951 accommodation at the centre stood at 25 lying In beds, 25 cots, 30 beds for unmarried mothers and 20 cots.

17 July 1969 saw the opening of a children's section. This had the effect of reducing the accommodation available in the maternity section from 30 mothers to 20, while the new children's section could house twelve. The maternity section closed in August 1970, and accommodation was later confirmed as being 24 beds, for girls '6 months to school leaving age' and boys '6 months to under [sic] 12 years'.

In 1991 the children's home was closed, and re-opened with the name Clement Park Hostel, as part of the Army's Dundee Homelessness Project.

In October 2006 the Centre closed and its building were sold. Redeveloped as ten luxury flats by Buddon Homes with 23 new-build homes in the grounds.

Postcode as of 2009 is DD2 3JT.

Conditions Governing Access

Some items in this collection are closed to the public. Records of a personal nature relating to identified individuals are closed for the lifespan of the individual. When it is not possible to establish whether an individual has died, a closure period of 75 years (if the individual was an adult when the record was created) or 100 years (if the individual was a child when the record was created) is imposed under the Data Protection Act [1998]. Former residents can apply for access to their own records. Please enquire for details. Open files can be viewed in the reading room of The Salvation Army International Heritage Centre, open Tue-Fri 9.30-4.00. To make an appointment or to enquire about your own records, phone: 0207 326 7800; or email: heritage@salvationarmy.org.uk.

Other Finding Aids

A multi-level description of this collection can be accessed in the International Heritage Centre's online catalogue: http://www.calmview.eu/SalvationArmy/CalmView/. A paper catalogue is available in the reading room of the International Heritage Centre.