Minutes, 1814-1941; Manager's and congregational minutes, 1829-1842 and 1845-1941; Baptismal register, 1866-1940; Account book, 1930-1941; Proclamation register, 1936-1940; Communion roll, 1884-1932 and 1935-1941.
Records of Pittenweem Relief, United Presbyterian, United Free and St Fillan's Church
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 227 CH3/802
- Dates of Creation1814-1941
- Name of Creator
- Physical Description0.4 metres
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The Relief congregation of Pittenweem was first established in 1777 and although the exact date is not recorded, George Haliburton Nicolson, the first minister of the charge, was ordained during the latter half of that year. A new church was opened in 1847, the year that it became part of the United Presbyterian Church, within the Presbytery of Kirkcaldy. Following the union of the United Presbyterian Church and the Free Church of Scotland in 1900, the congregation became Pittenweem United Free Church; and following the 1929 union of the Church of Scotland and the United Free Church Pittenween U.F. was termed Pittenweem St Fillans, Church of Scotland. In 1941 Pittenweem united with the parish church of Pittenweem St Adrian under the name of Pittenweem, and after the union the former United Free church was converted for use as church halls with the parish church remaining in use as the place of worship. The kirk session of Pittenweem, which was linked in 1971 with Carnbee, sits within the Presbytery of St Andrews.
Sources: Robert Small, The History of the Congregations of the United Presbyterian Church 1733-1900 (Edinburgh, 1904); John Alexander Lamb, The Fasti of the United Free Church of Scotland 1900-1929 (Edinburgh, 1956); Hew Scott and others (ed.), Fasti Ecclesiae Scoticanae, vols. 9-11 (Edinburgh, 1915-2000).
Conditions Governing Access
By appointment with the Archivist. Access to unpublished records less than 30 years old and other records containing confidential information may be restricted. Special conditions apply to photographs.
Held under charge and superintendence of the Keeper of Records for Scotland.
Description compiled by Rachel Hart, Archives Hub Project, based on description created by Lesley Doig and modified by Alan Borthwick, Scottish Archive Network project.
Other Finding Aids
Typescript catalogue available in St Andrews University Library Department of Special Collections and in National Archives of Scotland search rooms.
Conditions Governing Use
Applications for permission to quote should be sent to the University Archivist. Reproduction subject to usual conditions: educational use and condition of documents.