Rhyl County Court, records of

Scope and Content

Previously St Asaph County Court and St Asaph/Rhyl County Court, until 1911, when it became Rhyl County Court.

The County Courts at Rhyl/St Asaph and Mold/Flint alternated monthly.

County courts are of medieval origin, but were established in their present form by Act of Parliament in 1846. The court is primarily concerned with civil cases relating to debt and bankruptcy. There were also Courts in Denbigh, Llanrwst, Ruthin, and Wrexham in Denbighshire, and Corwen (Merionethshire)

Related material held elsewhere-

Flintshire Record Office, CC/A and CC/C Flint and Mold County Court records

Access Information

This collection is open for research. It is advisable to book in advance, for details and opening hours see http://archives.denbighshire.gov.uk/visit-us/. Access to some documents may be restricted due to Data Protection legislation, Denbighshire Archive Service will advise where this is the case.


Geographical Names