OBE (Order of the British Empire) Military Division

Scope and Content

OBE medal, with ribbon in original box.

Administrative / Biographical History

The Order of the British Empire was established on 4 June 1917 by King George V, and comprises five classes, in civil and military divisions, the most senior two of which make the recipient either a knight if male, or dame if female. The OBE was awarded to King for service (geological) during the First World War, 1914-1918.