Parish records of Langton

Scope and Content

Includes register of christenings, 1653-1981; register of marriages, 1655-1723, 1725-1754, 1756-1976, 1980-2013; register of burials, 1654-1980; register of banns, 1846-1951; register of services, 1885-1997; forms of services, 1887-1927; records concerning benefice income, including accounts and rentals, 1823-1829, glebe farm maps and surveys, 1786-1830, glebe leasing and sale papers, 1902-1903, 1927-1928, 1950-1954, glebe valuation, 1786, correspondence and papers, 1920-1961, and dispute over sheep-gates, 1862; churchwardens’ records, including accounts, 1721-1767, 1769-1921, 1946-1993, papers regarding rebuilding and repair of church, 1819-1863, and fabric papers, 1925-1982; records of incumbents, including benefice papers, 1946-1947, 1981-1986, parsonage house papers, 1820, 1931-1956, statistical returns, 1912-1940, 1951, and dilapidations papers, 1931-1960; overseers’ records, including accounts, 1834-1850, and rates, 1850-1864; surveyors’ accounts, 1771-1850; Vestry/Parochial Church Council records, including minutes of meetings, 1881-1889, 1929-1955, 1969-2000, and enclosure agreement, 1650.

Administrative / Biographical History

The existence of a church at Langton is believed to have been recorded in Domesday in the eleventh century, although the identification is not certain.

It was later given by Robert de Stuteville to William de Vescy at the time of William’s marriage to his daughter Burga de Stuteville in the twelfth century. Burga subsequently gave it to the Priory of Malton, who held it until the Dissolution of the Monasteries in the sixteenth century, at which the advowson passed to the Crown.

The church, which is dedicated to St Andrew, was largely rebuilt in 1822, although it retained features from the earlier building, such as its seventeenth century panelling. Its stained glass windows date from the second half of the nineteenth century and are by J. W. Knowles of York.

Today the parish, which includes the hamlet of Kennythorpe, is part of the benefice of West Buckrose, which also includes. The united parish also includes Acklam, Birdsall, Burythorpe, Leavening, North Grimston, Settrington with Scagglesthorpe, and Westow.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute in 1967 by the incumbent. Further additions were made to the archive in 1981, 1996, 2007 and 2013.

Note

The existence of a church at Langton is believed to have been recorded in Domesday in the eleventh century, although the identification is not certain.

It was later given by Robert de Stuteville to William de Vescy at the time of William’s marriage to his daughter Burga de Stuteville in the twelfth century. Burga subsequently gave it to the Priory of Malton, who held it until the Dissolution of the Monasteries in the sixteenth century, at which the advowson passed to the Crown.

The church, which is dedicated to St Andrew, was largely rebuilt in 1822, although it retained features from the earlier building, such as its seventeenth century panelling. Its stained glass windows date from the second half of the nineteenth century and are by J. W. Knowles of York.

Today the parish, which includes the hamlet of Kennythorpe, is part of the benefice of West Buckrose, which also includes. The united parish also includes Acklam, Birdsall, Burythorpe, Leavening, North Grimston, Settrington with Scagglesthorpe, and Westow.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute. This includes all material received up to and including 2013.

Alternative Form Available

Registers of christenings, 1653-1885, marriages, 1655-1885, burials, 1654-1885, and banns, 1846-1900, are also available on microfilm at the Borthwick Institute (References: MF 720, 1762).

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 24.02.16.

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are expected.

Additional Information

Published

GB 193