St Asaph Parish Records

Scope and Content

The records of individual ecclesiastical parishes include registers of baptisms, marriages and burials, as well as records of the churchwardens and Parochial Church Councils, parish charities, schools, clubs and societies.

Parish records were deposited at the Clwyd Record Office, following an agreement of 1976 between the Church in Wales and the Welsh County Councils. Following a decision by the Church in Wales to group parish collections by deanery, the records of St Asaph were transferred from Flintshire Record Office to Denbighshire Record Office in June 2009.

The ancient parish of St. Asaph consisted of 13 townships. From 1310, responsibility for the "cure of souls" in the parish was shared by the four Vicars-Choral of the Cathedral; and for this purpose, the townships were grouped as follows:

1. Brynpolyn, Cyrchynan, Gwernglefryd.

2. Bodelwyddan, Pengwern, Fanol.

3. Meriadog, Wigfair (or Wickwer) - both in old Denbighshire.

4. Bodeugan, Cilowen, Gwerneigron, Rhyllon, Talar.

On 3 August 1860, the townships of Bodelwyddan, Pengwern and Fanol were lost to the newly created parish of Bodelwyddan. In 1865, the townships of Meriadog and Wigfair were lost to the newly created parish of St. Mary's, Cefn (which is in old Denbighshire).

Information taken from GENUKI- (last accessed 11/06/2015).


Arranged into two key groups; Ecclesiastical Records and Civil Records

Access Information

This collection is open for research. It is advisable to book in advance, for details and opening hours see Access to some documents may be restricted due to Data Protection legislation, Denbighshire Archive Service will advise where this is the case.

Archivist's Note

P/57/1/49 - VACAT

Conditions Governing Use

Usual copyright regulations apply.

Geographical Names