Records relating to the Talyllyn Railway Company, Talyllyn Railway Preservation Society (TRPS) and the Narrow Gauge Railway Museum (NGRM) Trust, 1865-1994, including records relating to passenger and goods conveyance, 1912-1982, and train operation, 1951-1994; timetables, 1909-1993; council and committee minutes and other administrative records, 1950-1991; reports, 1950-1988; correspondence, 1932-1991; rules and regulations, 1865, 1952-1986; deeds, 1951-1969; publicity materials, 1912-1993; marketing records, 1973-1993; papers relating to rebuilding and new works at Wharf Station, Abergynolwyn, Nant Gwernol and Pendre, 1958-1980; financial records, 1951-1993; insurance records, 1965-1975; papers relating to special occasions, 1953-1986; posters, 1867, [pre 1954]-1988; TRPS membership papers, 1951-1991; newsletters, 1952-1994; scrapbooks and cuttings, [1880s]-1989; NGRM records, 1968-1990, and exhibits, [1880s]-1968; papers relating to the histories of Bryneglwys Quarries, 1911-1989, Aberdovey Slate Co. Ltd, 1971, Abergynolwyn Quarry, 1903-1985, Abergynolwyn Slate and Slab Co. Ltd, [1910s]-1986, and Talyllyn Railway, 1866-1989; maps, plans and diagrams, [pre 1864]-1992; photographs, postcards and slides, 1883-1993, transparencies and negatives, 1952-1986, and video cassettes, 1990; printed books, 1908-1963; personal files of R. A. Hope, 1955-1964; and papers relating to other railway companies, 1865-1984.
Talyllyn Railway Collection
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 220 Z/DDJ
- Dates of Creation1865-1994
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description(1256 items)
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Slate was first quarried at Bryneglwys Slate Quarry, near Abergynolwyn, Merionethshire, in the 1840s by John Pughe of Aberdyfi, Cardiganshire. In 1864, the quarry was leased by William McConnel's Aberdovey Slate Company Limited. McConnel(1809-1902) and his son were the instigators of Talyllyn Railway, a narrow gauge railway from the quarry in the Tal-y-llyn valley to the coast at Tywyn, Merionethshire, linking up with the national railway network. The Talyllyn Railway Company was formed through an Act of Parliament and the railway was completed in about 1865. It provided a freight and passenger service. In 1911, the quarry, railway and Abergynolwyn house were bought by Henry Haydn Jones, MP (1863-1950), who formed the Abergynolwyn Slate & Slab Co. Ltd to run the quarry. The quarry closed in 1946, and the railway closed, following Jones' death, in 1950. The Talyllyn Railway Preservation Society was formed and took over the railway as a passenger service, staffed by volunteers. At the Tywyn end of the line, there is the Narrow Gauge Railway Museum. This is run by the NGRM Trust, a registered charity, whose Trustees are appointed by the TRPS.
Arranged by deposit and subject into the following: passenger and goods conveyance; train operation; timetables; publicity; new works; finance; secretarial; finance; correspondence to members; insurance; plans and diagrams; laws, rules and regulations; correspondence; deeds; R. A. Hope; train operation; committee minutes; publicity; miscellaneous; ticket issue book sheets; reports; finance; correspondence; plans and maps; laws, rules and regulations; train operation; minutes; publicity; photographs, etc.; special occasions; miscellaneous; posters; train operation; timetables; rules and regulations; minutes and reports; correspondence; new works; publicity; marketing; accounts; TRPS membership papers; newsletters; scrapbooks and cuttings; NGR Museum; historical materials; photographs; maps, plans and drawings; miscellaneous; printed books; other railway companies; and artefacts.
Conditions Governing Access
Z/DDJ/37/853 is closed.
Compiled by Rhys Jones for the ANW project. The following sources were used in the compilation of this description: Meirionnydd Archives, The Talyllyn Railway Collection, catalogue (4 vols); Rheilffordd Talyllyn Railway website (www.talyllyn.co.uk), viewed 29 October 2004; Boyd, J. I. C., The Tal-y-llyn Railway (Didcot: Wild Swan, 1988).
Other Finding Aids
Hard copies of the catalogue are available at Meirionnydd Archives, the National Library of Wales and the National Register of Archives.
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright regulations apply
All records have been retained
Accruals are possible