Statistics of family earnings at the cotton mills of William (1756-1830) andJoseph Strutt (1765-1844) of Belper and Milford, Derbyshire, 1801 to 1805.The statistics were compiled by R.S. Fitton and A.P. Wadsworth from thequarterly wages book of the company, then in the possession of the EnglishSewing Cotton Company, Manchester.
FITTON ROBERT S.
- For more information, email the repository
- Advice on accessing these materials
- Cite this description
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 97 COLL MISC 0506
- Dates of Creation1950c
- Language of MaterialEnglish.
- Physical Description1 volume
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The cotton mills at Belper and Milford were owned by brothers Joseph(1765-1844) and William Strutt (1756-1830). Their father was the cottonfactory owner and improver of the stocking frame Jedediah Strutt (1726-1797),who first established the factories at Belper and Milford in 1778 and 1779.Joseph became the third mayor of Derby in 1835, and William invented theBelper stove in 1806.
Other Finding Aids
No further listrequired
Conditions Governing Use