Royal Institution of South Wales Miscellanea

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

Copy affidavit of Richard Seys as to unlawful coal-mining at Penllwyn Robert in the parish of St. John, Swansea 1641; 'a receipt for the Murren' c1680; petition for a royal patent for a new method of melting iron-ore, from Jonathan Brown and William Wright 1720; inventory of the goods and chattels of Owen Davies of Rhossili, lately deceased 1721; draft lease by Bussy Mansel Esquire, to John France of Swansea, ropemaker of a moiety of a stable and land called the Rope Walk Field or Postfield, adjoining the Rope Walk in Swansea 1738; will of John Jenkins of Lower Forest, Llansamlet, yeoman 1792 with annexed grant of probate dated 1792; notebook containing copies of letters of Quaker interest to Thomas Bigg, from his parents Thomas and Susanna Bigg and his brother George, all of Swansea 1819-1821; brief for the defendant in a suit in the King's bench: the King v Pascoe Grenfell regarding Copper Smoke Pollution together with attached statement of the defendants case 1830; letter from Lord John Russell to J.H. Vivian announcing that the Queen had agreed to become patroness of the Swansea Literary and Philosophic Institution and to permit it to be called the Royal Institution of South Wales 1838; Swansea Corporation notice regarding bathing regulations in Swansea Bay in both English and Welsh 1853; letter from Sir Digby Probyn to Sir George Newnes informing him that the King was pleased to give his patronage to the Royal Institution of South Wales 1901; notice of the holding of the Leet Court of the Duke of Beaufort, Lord of the Borough and the Manor of Swansea, on 19 May next, issued by Francis Hobbs, Steward 1930; collected papers of Revd. Henry James Vincent (1799-1865), Rector of St. Dogmaels, Pembrokeshire, undated (?c1799-1865).

Administrative / Biographical History

The Swansea Philosophical and Literary Institution was founded in 1835. It was renamed the Royal Institution of South Wales in 1838. In 1992 material previously belonging to the Royal Institution became the property of City&County of Swansea : Swansea Museum.

Conditions Governing Access

Please refer to repository.

Conditions Governing Use

Please refer to repository.

Custodial History

This collection forms part of the Royal Institution of South Wales Collection and was transferred from the Archives at University of Wales Swansea to West Glamorgan Archive Service in April 2004.