The company was established in 1850 and based in Elms Road in Headington. It advertised its business at various times as wheelwrights, wagon and cart builders, smiths and farriers, timber merchants, and undertakers. It appears to have ceased between 1952 and 1954 (when it no longer appears in Kelly's Trade Directory of Oxford).
The collection was given to the office via Oxfordshire Studies in two stages: accession 3089 in May 1990 and accession 3177 in November 1990.
Catalogued by Mark Priddey, November 2010