Comprises: registers of baptisms, banns, marriages and burials; registers of services; records relating to church buildings and finances; vestry records; records of Overseers of the Poor.
Llanddulas Parish Records
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The church was founded by St. Cynfryd; and was mentioned in the Norwich Taxation of 1254. The early church building was ruined by a great storm in 1732; when a new building was erected. By 1868, this was itself in a poor state and was demolished. The foundation stone of the present church was laid in 1868, and the church consecrated in May 1869. Until 1878, Llanddulas consisted of the two townships of Tre'r Llan and Tre'r Cefn. In 1878, by an Order in Council, 636 acres were taken from the parish of Abergele and added to the parish of Llanddulas. The parish is still in existence and is in a group benefice with Llysfaen.
Conditions Governing Access
This collection is open for research. Access to some documents may be restricted due to Data Protection legislation, Conwy Archives will advise where this is the case. For details and opening hours see http://www.conwy.gov.uk/en/Resident/Libraries-Museums-and-Archives/Archives/Archives.aspx.
Received from the parish by Denbighshire Record Office in two accessions of 1976 and 2004. Transferred to the Conwy Archive Service in 2009.