Account books, 1875-1881; prospectus, 1881-1886; Talyweunydd Quarry account books, 1886-1887; deeds, 1915-1916; and photographs.
Llechwedd Quarry, Blaenau Ffestiniog, Records
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 220 Z/M/720
- Dates of Creation1875-1916
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical DescriptionNot provided
- Direct Link
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Llechwedd Slate Quarry, Blaenau Ffestiniog, Merionethshire, was owned by J. W. Greaves & Sons during the 19th and 20th centuries. Tal-y-Weunydd is the western part of the quarry. The quarry, which was mostly underground, was opened in 1846. Highly-mechanised mills were established in 1852, and extensive use was made of waterpower for mill driving, pumping and haulage. By 1882, the quarry employed 553 men. By 1917, this figure had dropped to 110, due to the decline in the slate industry. Production is now concentrated in a mill built in the 1950s.
Arranged into the following: account books; prospectus; Talyweunydd Quarry account books; deeds; and photographs.
Conditions Governing Access
Compiled by Seri Crawley for the ANW project. The following sources were used in the compilation of this description: Meirionnydd Archives, Miscellaneous Collection (Dolgellau) Llechwedd Quarry, Blaenau Ffestiniog, records; Richards, Alun John, Slate Quarrying in Wales (Llanwrst, 1995); Richards, Alun John, A Gazeteer of the Welsh Slate Industry (Gwasg Carreg Gwalch, 1991).
Other Finding Aids
Hard copies of the catalogue are available at Meirionnydd Archives, the National Register of Archives and the National Library of Wales.
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright regulations apply.
All records deposited at Meirionnydd Archives have been retained
Accruals are not expected