Correspondence, 1881-1899; Publications, c.1877-1911; Research notes, n.d.; Personal papers, 1860; Receipts, 1912-1923.
J. D. Davies Collection
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
John David Davies, 1831-1911, cleric and antiquary, born at Oxwich parsonage, Gower. Son of John Davies, rector of Reynoldston and Louisa his wife. He was ordained deacon 23 Sept. 1855 and licensed assistant curate of Nicholaston and priest 21 Sept. 1856. He was for a time chaplain to the earl of Milltown. He was instituted to the rectory of Llanmadoc, Gower 28 June 1860 and to that of Cheriton 2 Aug. 1867, both of which he held until his death. He carried out the restoration of both churches. His researches into the history of Gower were published in four volumes, A History of West Gower (Swansea, 1877-1894). His papers were donated to the Library in 1894-5 as there is a note in the annual report for that year (Ref. No. D/D RISW 3/30)
The collection was originally listed at University College, Swansea, where an interpretation of the original order was made. This catalogue lists the letters chronologically.
Conditions Governing Access
The records were originally held at The Royal Institution of South Wales, Swansea. From 1966 onwards the records were moved to the library in the University College, Swansea in consignments. They were transferred to West Glamorgan Archive Service in the Spring of 2004.
Compiled by Katie Millien for the West Glamorgan Archive Service.
Other Finding Aids
A hard copy of the catalogue is available at the West Glamorgan Archive Service. The catalogue can be accessed online.
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright regulations apply.
All records transferred to the West Glamorgan Archive Service have been retained.
Accruals are not expected.